Tackling the Energy Crisis

Session Videos and Presentations

NEA Annual Conference
and Exhibition

23-25 January 2023, Birmingham

Opening and Keynote Address

  • Adam Scorer, Chief Executive, NEA
  • Lord Callanan, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, BEIS

Session 1: Views from the Frontline

  • Chair: Danni Barnes, Director of Development and Partnerships, NEA
  • Rachel Jones, Chief Executive, Act on Energy
  • Mark Thomas, Area Manager Head of Prevention, Merseyside Fire and Rescue Service
  • Geraldine O’Connor, Lived experience
  • Dominic Watters, Lived experience of fuel poverty, Food Foundation Ambassador

Session 2: Picking up the pieces

  • Chair, Matt Copeland, Head of Policy and Public Affairs, NEA
  • Josh Buckland, Partner, Flint Global
  • Nye Cominetti, Senior Economist, Resolution Foundation
  • Rt Hon Caroline Flint, Chair, Committee on Fuel Poverty

Session 3: Supporting the most vulnerable in retail markets after the freeze

  • Chair: Peter Smith, Director of Policy and Advocacy, NEA
  • Gillian Cooper, Head of Energy, Citizens Advice
  • Ben Golding, Director Energy Affordability, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
  • Maureen Paul, Deputy Director for Retail Market Policy, Ofgem
  • Kevin Shiels, Interim Chief Executive, Northern Ireland Utility Regulator
  • Dhara Vyas, Deputy Chief Executive, Energy UK

Session 4: Preventing ill health from cold homes

  • Chair: Rob Howard, NEA Trustee and Consultant in Public Health at Leicester City Council
  • Bill Purvis, Derbyshire Healthy Home Programme Manager, Derbyshire County Council
  • Dr Rose Chard, Fair Future Lead, Energy Systems Catapult
  • Emma Bland, Principal Investigator on Smartline and Associate Professor in Practice in Environment, Health and Wellbeing at the University of Exeter

Session 5: Kick-starting a fair and affordable transition to net zero

  • Chair: Syed Ahmed, Director, Energy for London
  • Juliet Phillips, Senior Policy Adviser, E3G
  • Professor Martin Freer, Director, Birmingham Energy Institute, University of Birmingham
  • Marcus Shepheard, Senior Analyst, Buildings, Climate Change Committee
  • Søren Østergaard Jensen, Adviser, Danish Energy Agency

Breakout A: Transition to Net Zero: How can ECO 4 and ECO+ help fuel-poor householders decarbonise their homes

This is an edited version due to rights permissions, we hope to have the full version made available soon.

  • Chair: Maya Fitchett, Policy Analyst, NEA
  • Louise Shooter, Policy Manager, Energy UK
  • Kirsty Ford, Head of Scheme Delivery, Ovo [Not included in this edited version]
  • Mark Dallen, Consortium and Stakeholder Manager, EDF Energy
  • James Somerville, Policy and Partnerships Director, Agility Eco

Breakout B: Energy Crisis and Costs: Getting Smarter – update on the smart meter programme, opportunities for helping pre-payment customers and addressing self-disconnection

Due to a problem with sound, this video is not available

Breakout C: Update on the Fishwick project

Due to a problem with sound, this video is not available

  • Chair: Lorraine Donaldson, NEA
  • Danielle Butler, Senior Research and Policy Officer, National Energy Action 
  • Colin Timmins, Director of Homes, National Energy Action
  • Mark Norcliffe, Contract Manager, Seddon Construction
  • Guy Shorrock, Managing Director, Aldrock

Conference round-up

  • Claire Durkin, Chair of the Board of Trustees, National Energy Action