This year’s Heat Heroes winners announced!


From left to right. First row: Bob Adamson, Debbie King, Diane Simone, Davina Allen. Second row: Gillian Noble from ScottishPower, Emma Pagett, Rhian Cook, Vanessa Powell-Hoyland, Lord Beith, Alvina Ali, Joanna Seymour, Esme Parry. Back row: Russell Bosanko, Kate Urwin, Jo Boswell.

The Heat Heroes Awards are open to individuals across England and Wales and celebrate those who go above and beyond to get the recognition they deserve – for helping people in their community live in warmer homes.

Held in partnership between ScottishPower and the charity National Energy Action, this year there were some very strong candidates, but the judges managed to select fifteen worthy winners.

Not-for-profit organisations including local authorities, health and social care agencies, voluntary and statutory agencies and community groups were encouraged to nominate staff and volunteers for the award. The winners came from a wide array of organisations.

Maria Wardrobe, Director of Communications and External Relations at National Energy Action commented: “Each year I am bowled over by the passion and tenacity that our Heat Heroes demonstrate, always going above and beyond what is expected of them in their job or as unpaid volunteers. It was a delight to meet them and be able to say well done and thank you on behalf of those they help.”

Gillian Noble, Sales Director at ScottishPower said “ScottishPower is delighted to be sponsoring the Heat Heroes Awards for the sixth year. The hard work and commitment shown by these dedicated people within their communities is crucially important in helping to tackle fuel poverty. On behalf of ScottishPower I’d like to congratulate all the nominees and winners.”

The winners were shining examples to others in their communities; here is what some of their nominators had to say about them.

“Over the years she [Alvina] carried out an incredible amount of work to help people in need. She went the extra mile in helping people to reduce their fuel debt, analyse energy bills, helped tenants switch suppliers, identified financial help in the form of Warm Home Discount, installed water saving gadgets, liaised with companies on their behalf and is cheerfully hands on too, crawling into cupboards to read meters, changing light bulbs, going into lofts for the vulnerable and elderly.”

“She [Diane] always does this with a smile on her face and a positive can-do attitude and the multitude of thank you cards she receives illustrate how effective and well liked she is.”

Congratulations to our winners this year:

Joanne Seymour, Flintshire Council

Kate Urwin, Yorkshire Energy Doctor CIC

Vanessa Powell-Hoyland, Doncaster Council & Sheffield Hallam University

Esme Parry, Talking Money

Natalie French, Coventry Citizens Advice

Emma Pagett, Arun District Council

Russell Bosanko, Citizens Advice Derbyshire Districts

Kate Ashman, Citizens Advice Manchester

Liz Dagger, Centre for Sustainable Energy (CSE)

Davina Allen, Marches Energy Agency (MEA)

Debbie King, Lancashire County Council

Rhian Cook, Melin Homes

Diane Simone, Blackpool Care & Repair

Bob Adamson, Volunteer with Durham Council

Alvina Ali, Wolverhampton Homes



Menu Title