Conference 2017 presentations

A fairer energy future for all

PDFs of the presentations, where available, can be downloaded by clicking the blue links below.

 Tuesday 12 September
Opening Address
  • Chair: Derek Lickorish, Chair of NEA
  • Speakers: Jenny Saunders OBE, Chief Executive, NEA
  • Jim Lightfoot, Managing Director, Business to Municipalities (B2M), E.ON
Session 1: The energy policy landscape and implications for the fuel poor – panel discussion
  • Chair: Derek Lickorish, Chair of NEA
  • Speakers: Richard Mellish, Deputy Director, Home and Local Energy, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
  • Lawrence Slade, Chief Executive, Energy UK
  • Meghna Tewari, Head of Consumer Vulnerability Strategy, Ofgem
  • Tony Glover, Director of Policy and Gas, Energy Networks Association
  • Bill Purvis, Derbyshire Healthy Home Programme Manager, Derbyshire County Council
Session 2: Making the fuel poverty and carbon targets a reality
  • Chair & Speaker: Peter Smith, Director of Policy & Research, NEA
    Speakers: James Kerry, Fuel Poverty Team, Home and Local Energy, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
  • Claire Thornhill, Frontier Economics, co-author of the Affordable Warmth, Clean Growth report (available soon)
  • Nigel Dewbery, Head of Obligation Delivery, E.ON
Session 3: Treating customers fairly and acting on vulnerability
  • Chair: Peter Sumby, Director of Operations (Community Engagement and Demonstration), NEA
  • Speakers: Gill Furniss MP, Shadow Minister for Consumer Protection
  • Meghna Tewari, Head of Consumer Vulnerability Strategy, Ofgem
  • Vanessa Northam, UK Vulnerable Customer Manager, E.ON
  • Zoe McLeod, Associate, Sustainability First Project Inspire
  • Victoria MacGregor, Director of Energy, Citizens Advice
Session 4: Innovation: Mainstream new approaches to tackling fuel poverty
  • Chair: Danni Crosland, Director of Operations, NEA
  • Warm & Healthy Homes Fund
    Introduced by Heather Critchlow, Project Development Manager, NEA. Speakers: Tom Ruxton, Co-ordinator, Home Energy Efficiency Training (HEET)
    Marie Jones, East Sussex Fuel Poverty Coordinator, Hastings Borough Council
  • Technical Innovation Fund
    Introduced by David Lynch, Project Development Manager, NEA
    Speakers: George Phillips, Energy Initiatives Officer, Colchester Borough Homes
    Georgina Patel, Senior Manager, Energy and Carbon Reduction, Cheshire West and Chester Council
  • Warm Zones Fund
    Speaker: William Gillis, Managing Director, Warm Zones
Wednesday 13 September
Session 5: Maximising income, improving housing standards and tackling inequalities
  • Chair: Rob Howard, Consultant in Public Health, Leicestershire County Council
  • Speakers: Dan Tomlinson, Research and Policy Analyst, Resolution Foundation
  • Jeremy Nesbitt, Managing Director, National Grid Affordable Warmth Solutions
Session 6: Transforming our energy systems
Closing Address: Inspirational speakers
  • Penney Poyzer, Managing Director, Nourish Associates
  • Alan Simpson, Former chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Warm Homes Group and now Independent Adviser on Energy and Climate Change Policy
  • Final remarks from Jenny Saunders, Chief Executive, NEA


Published on 14-09-2017
Menu Title